The Bossier Parish Community College’s drama program production of tense and suspenseful drama, Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde was honored with the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) awards.

Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde were selected by the official KCACTF referees to be considered for the annual Region VI festival. This recognition places Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde among a small limited number of nominees out of which five pieces from the region will be selected to be presented at the Region VI KCACTF Festival in February 2022. Dr Ray Scott Crawford, Dean of Communication and Performing Arts , directed the production and the Cavalier Players produced the show which was presented at the Stephen W. Slaughter Theater in Bossier City.

The cast members received the “Excellence in Ensemble Scene Change” award for their performance in transitioning sets from scene to scene.

Technical Director David White won three meritorious awards for his work in stage design, lighting design and prop art.

The cast members also received individual awards. For excellence in acting, Josue Escobar, John Medlin and Candice Lott received Irene Ryan nominations for their roles as Henry Jekyll, Sir Danvers Carew / Hyde 2 and Poole / Hyde 4. The three students will now be competing with approximately 400 other Region VI students for a chance to win the Irene Ryan National Scholarship and participate in the KCACTF National Festival in Washington DC

Other cast members Cason Smith and Sarah Johnson earned Irene Ryan nominations for their performances in the spring production, The Good Doctor. They too will participate in the KCACTF Region VI festival for the chance to win the Irene Ryan National Scholarship.

BPCC Theater graduate Zachary Tyler also participated in the production. The show’s technical team included Kendall Reynolds as stage manager and Sarah Foster as assistant stage manager.

The KCACTF encourages, recognizes and celebrates the finest and most diverse works produced in university and college theater programs across the country. Region VI includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Texas, Missouri, and New Mexico. Five plays will be chosen from this six-state region to perform at the Region VI festival in February 2022.

About Madeline J. Carter

Check Also

AT&T Performing Arts Center Hosts Third Annual Young Women’s Leadership Conference

On Thursday, June 16, the nonprofit AT&T Performing Arts Center hosted its third annual Young …